How Do You Answer The Phone?

Have you ever heard the saying, “You never get a second chance to make a first impression.”? Most of us have heard it, but I’ll be willing to bet that most people only apply the advice to the in-person meeting.

Why do I think that?  Very simply – because I hear how people answer their phones!

businessman on phone

Some people answer with a short, abrupt “Hello.” I often feel as though I’m interrupting something important when I call these people.

Some people answer with a very unprofessional “Hey.”

Some people (myself included) answer with “This is (insert name).” I think I started this habit when it was required at a corporate job and I haven’t thought of a reason to change it.  I’m open to input or suggestions though!  (Comment below!)

home officeFinally, the people that I most enjoy calling are those who answer with a real smile in their voice. (Yes – you can have a smile in your voice!) They make me feel as though they are genuinely happy to hear from me. And frankly, I’m often in a better mood after speaking to them! We all think we are this person and that  our greeting is warm. However, my non-scientific results attest that most of us don’t do this.

So the question to ask your closest friends is, “When I answer the phone, do I sound glad to hear from you?” Hopefully they will give you an honest answer.

Leigh Anne Lankford is an instructional designer with more than 21 years’ experience in the field of HRD. She is a Relationship Manager for TrainingPros in Atlanta, working closely with training and development departments of large organizations to identify, attract, and on-board contract professionals for very specific and specialized training and development needs. You can reach Leigh Anne at leighanne.lankford@training-pros.com. 

Leave a Reply

